NYLS congratulates our Dispute Resolution Team for winning twice in first place and once in third at the INADR Invitational Mediation Tournament at Northeastern.

More

Dispute Resolution Team

The New York Law School Dispute Resolution Team is a student-run co-curricular program that represents the Law School in competitions based on alternative dispute resolution methods and lawyering skills. Competitors gain experience in client interviewing, client counseling, negotiating, mediating, and arbitrating in a various practice areas.

Students may gain membership to the team by successfully competing in one of two annual competitions: the Intramural Negotiation Competition (held during the spring semester), or the Summer Write-On Competition (held before the commencement of fall semester). The Dispute Resolution Team’s Executive Board and its Faculty Advisor, Professor Kris Franklin, oversee the team’s activities. Students may earn academic credit through membership, which requires active involvement in competitions, training, and mooting of fellow teammates.

Recent News

Dispute Resolution Team members Bulent Can class of 2015 (second from left) and Alexander Eaton rising 3L (third from left) of the Dispute Resolution Team won the 2015 Fordham National Basketball Negotiation competition. Alex Eaton was named Best Advocate in the competition.

The team was ably coached by Amir Amirov class of 2015 (far left) and assistant coach Trevaughn Luncheon rising 3L Evening (far right), and supported by their E-Board advisors Michelle Skalrud and  Janelly Landa, both class of 2015. Congratulations not only to these students, but to everyone on the team who worked hard to prepare them.

IMG_9308.JPG-286x300

Intermural and Intramural Dispute Resolution Competitions

Teams of Association members represent New York Law School at competitions throughout the country. In the 2014-2015 academic year Team members expect to participate in at least the following competitions outside and inside NYLS:

  • Southwestern Entertainment Law Negotiation Competition
  • ABA Negotiation Competition
  • Intellectual Property LawMeet
  • Northeastern Invitational Mediation Tournament
  • ABA Client Counseling Competition
  • Transactional LawMeet
  • Tulane National Basketball Arbitration Competition
  • Fordham National Basketball Negotiation Competition
  • University of San Diego Law School National Sports Law Negotiation Competition
  • ABA Northeast Regional Negotiation Competition
  • ABA Arbitration Competition
  • National BALSA Negotiation
  • Tulane Law School National Baseball Arbitration Competition
  • Education Law Client Counseling Competition
  • ABA Mediation Competition
  • NYLS Intramural Negotiation Competition

New York Law School Dispute Resolution Team 2015-2016 Executive Board

President
Colin McGeough, colin.mcgeough@law.nyls.edu

Vice President
Alec Rubenstein, alec.rubenstein@law.nyls.edu

Competition Chair
Alexander Eaton, alexander.eaton@law.nyls.edu

Senior Editor
Isioma Chukwuani, isioma.chukwuani@law.nyls.edu

Training Chair
Darley Maw, darley.maw@law.nyls.edu

Host Competition Chair
Ashley Pomes, ashley.pomes@law.nyls.edu

Host Competition Coordinator
Joseph Chung, joseph.chungl@law.nyls.edu

Secretary & Chair of Alumni Relations
Laura Molina, laura.molina@law.nyls.edu