2016 Wagner Competition

The 40th Annual Robert F. Wagner National Labor and Employment Law Moot Court Competition

2016 Competition Information

2016 Fact Pattern
2016 Rules
2016 Competitor Briefs
2016 Final Round Video

The 40th Annual Robert F. Wagner National Labor and Employment Law Moot Court Competition was held this year March 18-20. For over thirty years, as many as fifty schools from across the country have competed in this prestigious event and this is not the year to miss.

The WagnerWagner Final Round flyer Competition is the nation’s largest student-run moot court competition and the premier national competition dedicated exclusively to the areas of labor and employment law. The Moot Court Association sponsors this competition in honor of the late United States Senator, Robert F. Wagner, Sr., our distinguished alumnus.

This year’s authors, Kimberly Gay and Nicole Mozee, wrote a fact pattern that will challenge competitors to argue whether transgender identity is a protected class under Section 703 of Title VII, and whether gender dysphoria constitutes a “serious health condition” under the Family Medical Leave Act. Judges are not required to have specialized knowledge regarding these issues to be a judge in this Competition.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

National Championship Team
Team 29 – University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law
Megan Diffenderfer
Kellie Money
Carolyn Purcell
Second Place Team
Team 19 – The George Washington University Law School
George Ryan Holton
Monica Porter
Best Final Round Oral Advocate
Team 19 – Monica Porter
Best Petitioner Brief
Team 15 – South Texas College of Law
Best Respondent Brief
Team 24 – UC Hastings College of Law
Best Preliminary Round Oral Advocate
Team 19 – George Ryan Holton
Best Preliminary Round Team
Team 24 – UC Hastings College of Law


Thank you to this year’s Final Round Bench:

Chai Feldblum, Commissioner, EEOC
The Honorable Phyllis Randolph Frye, Municipal Court Judge, City of Houston
The Honorable Jed Rakoff, District Court Judge, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York
The Honorable Jenny Rivera, Associate Justice, New York Court of Appeals
Anthony W. Crowell, President and Dean, New York Law School

Final round bench