NYLS faculty with expertise in many different fields of law teach in our upper-year clinical and experiential learning programs.

Clinical and Experiential Learning Faculty

Building on the first-year Legal Practice courses, the Law School offers a rich array of programs that can broaden students’ abilities to perform core lawyering tasks. These opportunities include clinics, some based at NYLS and some at law offices off-campus; externships and workshops; project-based learning courses; upper-class writing electives; skills competition teams; and simulation courses. These courses offer the opportunity to learn experientially, by practicing skills from interviewing to oral advocacy in simulation contexts by experiencing the work of outside law offices and judicial chambers as externs, and by working directly on cases and other legal matters with faculty guidance and feedback in our clinics. These are courses in skills, but they are also courses in legal reasoning and analysis, which you will have the chance to practice and refine in the context of each legal problem you address. These courses also acquaint you directly with different areas of practice and may be of real assistance in your job search.

Experiential learning is the lynchpin of all of our curricular efforts to teach professional skills and prepare our students for the practice of law. Placing students in roles as lawyers has proven to be one of the most effective ways to achieve that goal. Whether it is counseling a client or making a presentation to a law firm, when the student is asked to perform as a lawyer would, the learning sticks. The student must know the law, but must also know and appreciate the context in which that law is to be applied. That is the essence of experiential learning.

Susan Abraham

Professor of Law
Faculty Advisor, Moot Court Association
T: 212-431-2116
E: susan.abraham@nyls.edu
O: S932 (40 Worth Street, 9th Fl.) and SW104 (40 Worth, Ground Fl. – Moot Court)
Profile

Alan Appel

Professor of Law
Director, International Tax Program
T: 212.324.6554
E:alan.appel@nyls.edu
O:E711, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Deborah Archer

Professor of Law
Co-Director, Impact Center for Public Interest Law
Dean of Diversity and Inclusion
Director, Racial Justice Project
T: 212-431-2138
F: 212-219-3752
E: deborah.archer@nyls.edu
O: E217, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Lenni Benson

Professor of Law
Director, Safe Passage Project
T: 212-431-2336
F: 212-431-1830
E: lenni.benson@nyls.edu
O: C244, C Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Adele Bernhard

Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Law
Director, Post-Conviction Innocence Clinic
T: 212-431-2813
E: adele.bernhard@nyls.edu
O: E819, 185 West Broadway

Lloyd Bonfield

Professor of Law
Director, Center for International Law
Director, LL.M. in American Business Law
T: 212-431-2822
E: lloyd.bonfield@nyls.edu
O: E918, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Frank A. Bress

Professor of Law
Director, Clinical Programs
T: 212-431-2389
F: 212-966-2053
E: frank.bress@nyls.edu
O: E811, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Carol A. Buckler

Professor of Law
T: 212-431-2182
E: cbuckler@nyls.edu
O: E812, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Eugene Cerruti

Professor of Law
T: 212-431-2815
E: eugene.cerruti@nyls.edu
O: E816, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Anthony W. Crowell

Dean and President
Professor of Law
T: 212.431.2840
E: anthony.crowell@nyls.edu
O: E216, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Stephen J. Ellmann

Professor of Law
Director, Office of Clinical and Experiential Learning
Chair, Clinical Theory Workshops
Co-Chair, South Africa Reading Group
Co-Editor, Clinical Law Teaching and Practice Ejournal
T: 212-431-2392
E: stephen.ellmann@nyls.edu
O: E815, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

David Epstein

Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Law
Faculty Adviser, NYLS Trial Competition Team
T: 212-431-2362
E: depstein@nyls.edu
O: C326, C Building, 47 Worth Street
Profile

Kris Franklin

Professor of Law
Director, Academic Skills Program
Faculty Adviser, Dispute Resolution Team
T: 212-431-2353
E: kris.franklin@nyls.edu
O: C45, C Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Mercer Givhan

Associate Professor of Law
T: 212-324-6555
E: mercer.givhan@nyls.edu
O: S936, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Mariana Hogan

Professor of Law
Director, Advocacy Program
Director, Externship Program
T: 212.431.2173
E: Mariana.Hogan@nyls.edu
O: E814, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Sandra Janin

Professor of Legal Writing
Director, Upper-Level Writing Elective Program
T: 212-431-2373
F: 212-343-1860
E: sandra.janin@nyls.edu
O:E 1009, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Gerald Korngold

Professor of Law
Program Chair, Center for Real Estate Studies
T: 212-431-2154
F: 212-431-1864
E: gkorngold@nyls.edu
O: SW924, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Richard D. Marsico

Professor of Law
Co-Director, Impact Center for Public Interest Law
Co-Editor, Clinical Law Teaching and Practice Ejournal
T: 212.431.2180
E: Richard.Marsico@nyls.edu
O: S923, 40 Worth Street
Profile

Howard S. Meyers

Professor of Law
Associate Director, Center for Business and Financial Law
T: 212-431-2338
E: howard.meyers@nyls.edu
O: E813, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

F. Peter Phillips

Adjunct Professor of Law
Director, Alternative Dispute Resolution Skills Program
T: 212.431.2100 ext. 4422
E: f.peter.phillips@nyls.edu
O: C326, C Building, 47 Worth Street
Profile

Richard K. Sherwin

Wallace Stevens Professor of Law
Dean for Faculty Scholarship
T: 212-431-2868
E: rsherwin@nyls.edu
O: E914, E Building, 185 Broadway
Profile

Peter Strauss

Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Law
Email: Peter.Strauss@nyls.edu
Phone: 212.431.2196
O: SE965, 40 Worth Street
Profile

Lynn Boepple Su

Associate Professor of Law
Faculty Adviser, NYLS Trial Competition Team
T: 212-431-2396
E: lynn.su@nyls.edu
O: E1012, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Ruti G. Teitel

Ernst C. Stiefel Professor of Comparative Law; Chair, Global Law and Justice Colloquium; Co-Director, Institute for Global Law, Justice & Policy; Visiting Professor, Hebrew University School of Law, Mt. Scopus; Straus Fellow, NYU Law School’s Straus Institute for the Advanced Study of Law and Justice (2012-2013); Visiting Fellow, London School of Business
T: 212-431-2322
E: rteitel@nyls.edu
O: E913, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Ann F. Thomas

Otto L. Walter Distinguished Professor of Tax Law
Director, Graduate Tax Program
T: 212-431-2328
E: athomas@nyls.edu
O: E712, E Building, 185 West Broadway
Profile

Michelle Zierler

Professor of Legal Writing
Faculty Publisher, New York Law School Review
Director, Program in Law and Journalism
T: 212-431-2330
E: michelle.zierler@nyls.edu
O:W500.2, W Building, 185 Broadway
Profile