NYLS faculty with expertise in many different fields of law teach in our upper-year clinical and experiential learning programs.

Clinical and Experiential Learning Faculty

Building on the first-year Legal Practice courses, the Law School offers a rich array of courses that can broaden students’ abilities to perform core lawyering tasks. These courses include clinics and field placements; externships and workshops; project-based learning courses; upper-class writing electives; competition teams; and simulation courses. These courses offer the opportunity to learn experientially, by working directly on cases (either in a simulated mode or with real clients), for or with an outside lawyer or a judge, or on a project involving legal issues. In addition, these courses are designed to offer students the opportunity to hone their skills in drafting contracts, and writing legal memoranda and briefs. Students will also learn how to research and write appellate briefs and have the opportunity to represent the school in moot competitions. These are courses in skills, but they are also courses in legal reasoning and analysis, which you will have the chance to practice and refine in the context of each legal problem you address – often the problems of a real or simulated client. These courses also acquaint you directly with different areas of practice and may be of real assistance in your job search.

Experiential learning is the lynchpin of all of our curricular efforts to teach professional skills and prepare our students for the practice of law. Placing students in roles as lawyers has proven to be one of the most effective ways to achieve that goal. Whether it is counseling a client or making a presentation to a law firm, when the student is asked to perform as a lawyer would, the learning sticks. The student must know the law, but must also know and appreciate the context in which that law is to be applied. That is the essence of experiential learning.

Susan Abraham

Professor of Law
Faculty Advisor, Moot Court Association
T: 212-431-2116
E: susan.abraham@nyls.edu
O: S932 (40 Worth Street, 9th Fl.) and SW104 (40 Worth, Ground Fl. – Moot Court)
Profile

Deborah Archer

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Law
Director, Racial Justice Project
T: 212-431-2138
F: 212-219-3752
E: deborah.archer@nyls.edu
O: E217, E Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Lenni Benson

Professor of Law
Director, Safe Passage Project
T: 212-431-2336
F: 212-431-1830
E: lenni.benson@nyls.edu
O: C244, C Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Adele Bernhard

Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Law
Director, Post-Conviction Innocence Clinic
T: 212-431-2813
E: adele.bernhard@nyls.edu
O: S928, 40 Worth Street

Lloyd Bonfield

Professor of Law
Director, Center for International Law
T: 212-431-2822
E: lloyd.bonfield@nyls.edu
O: SW918, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Frank A. Bress

Professor of Law
Director, Clinical Programs
Director, Criminal Defense Clinic
T: 212-431-2389
F: 212-966-2053
E: frank.bress@nyls.edu
O: S-909, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Carol A. Buckler

Professor of Law
Director, Center for Professional Values and Practice
Director of NYLS Pro Bono Initiatives
T: 212-431-2182
E: cbuckler@nyls.edu
O: S-903, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Eugene Cerruti

Professor of Law
T: 212-431-2815
E: eugene.cerruti@nyls.edu
O: S925, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Anthony W. Crowell

Dean and President
Professor of Law
T: 212.431.2840
E: anthony.crowell@nyls.edu
O: E216, E Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Stephen J. Ellmann

Professor of Law
Director, Office of Clinical and Experiential Learning
Chair, Clinical Theory Workshops
Co-Chair, South Africa Reading Group
Co-Editor, Clinical Research Institute
T: 212-431-2392
E: stephen.ellmann@nyls.edu
O: S930, 40 Worth St.
Profile

David Epstein

Associate Professor of Law
Legal Research Specialist
T: 212-431-2362
E: depstein@nyls.edu
O: E714, E Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Aleta Estreicher

Professor of Law (On Leave)
E: aestreicher@nyls.edu

Profile

Diane L. Fahey

Associate Professor of Law
T: 212.431.2886
F: 212.431.1830
O: C405, C Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Kris Franklin

Professor of Law
Director, Academic Skills Program
T: 212-431-2353
E: kris.franklin@nyls.edu
O: C226, C Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Mercer Givhan

Associate Professor of Law
Co-Director, Racial Justice Advocacy Clinic
T: 212-324-6555
E: mercer.givhan@nyls.edu
O: S927, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Lawrence M. Grosberg

Professor of Law
Director, Mediation Clinic
Co-Director, Elder Law Clinic
Co-Director, Wills Clinic
T: 212-431-2172
F: 212-966-2053
E: lgrosberg@nyls.edu
O: SW-906, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Mariana Hogan

Professor of Law
Associate Dean for Student Development
Director, Externship Program
T: 212.431.2173
E: Mariana.Hogan@nyls.edu
O: E516, E Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Sandra Janin

Professor of Legal Writing
Director, Upper-Level Writing Elective Program
T: 212-431-2373
F: 212-343-1860
E: sandra.janin@nyls.edu
O: SE957, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Gerald Korngold

Professor of Law
T: 212-431-2154
E: gkorngold@nyls.edu
O: SW924, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Jethro K. Lieberman

Professor of Law
Director, Office of Academic Publishing
T: 212-431-2378
E: jlieberman@nyls.edu
O: C341, C Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Richard D. Marsico

Professor of Law
Director, Justice Action Center
Director, Economic Justice Project
Co-Editor, Clinical Research Institute
T: 212.431.2180
E: Richard.Marsico@nyls.edu
O: S923, 40 Worth Street
Profile

Carlin Meyer

Professor of Law (On Leave)
Director, Diane Abbey Law Center for Children and Families
T: 212.431.2194
E: Carlin.Meyer@nyls.edu
O: C240, C Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Howard S. Meyers

Professor of Law
Director, Securities Arbitration Clinic
Co-Director, Transactional Law Clinic
T: 212-431-2338
E: howard.meyers@nyls.edu
O: S905, 40 Worth Street
Profile

Stephen A. Newman

Professor of Law
T: 212-431-2875
F: 212-431-9205
E: stephen.newman@nyls.edu
O: E705, E Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Lynnise E. Pantin

Associate Professor of Law
Co-Director, Transactional Law Clinic
T: 212.324.7911
E: lynnise.pantin@nyls.edu
O: SW916, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Michael L. Perlin

Professor of Law
Director, Mental Disability Law Program
Director, International Mental Disability Law Reform Project
T: 212-431-2183
E: michael.perlin@nyls.edu
Profile

F. Peter Phillips

Adjunct Professor of Law
Director, Alternative Dispute Resolution Skills Program
T: 212.431.2100 ext. 4422
E: f.peter.phillips@nyls.edu
O: C326
Profile

Ernst Rosenberger

Adjunct Professor of Law
E: Ernst.Rosenberger@nyls.edu

Richard K. Sherwin

Professor of Law
Director, Visual Persuasion Project
T: 212-431-2868
F: 212-343-2039
E: rsherwin@nyls.edu
O: SE947, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Peter Strauss

Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Law
Co-Director, Elder Law Clinic
Co-Director, Wills Clinic
Email: Peter.Strauss@nyls.edu
Phone: 212.431.2196
O: SE965, 40 Worth Street
Profile

Lynn Boepple Su

Associate Professor of Law
T: 212-431-2396
F: 212.966.2053
E: lynn.su@nyls.edu
O: S910, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Ruti G. Teitel

Ernst C. Stiefel Professor of Comparative Law; Chair, Global Law and Justice Colloquium; Co-Director, Institute for Global Law, Justice & Policy; Visiting Professor, Hebrew University School of Law, Mt. Scopus; Straus Fellow, NYU Law School’s Straus Institute for the Advanced Study of Law and Justice (2012-2013)
T: 212-431-2322
F: 212-431-1804
E: rteitel@nyls.edu
O: E913, E Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile

Ann F. Thomas

Otto L. Walter Distinguished Professor of Tax Law
Director, Graduate Tax Program
T: 212-431-2328
F: 212-343-2039
E: athomas@nyls.edu
O: SE951, 40 Worth St.
Profile

Michelle Zierler

Professor of Legal Writing
Director, Program in Law and Journalism
T: 212-431-2100 x4422
E: michelle.zierler@nyls.edu
O:C342, C Building, 47 Worth St.
Profile