Alumni News

Here’s what you missed:

Kalman Yeger, 2011, was elected to the NYC Council – representing the 44th District, covering Borough Park, Bensonhurst, Midwood, and Kensington.

James Orr, 1994, was named President of Domestic Distribution at Universal Pictures.

Joan O’Hara, 2011, National Security Adviser to Vice President Mike Pence, was profiled in the September 14, 2017 issue of ‘The Hill.’  Ms. O’Hara introduced honoree Prof. Nadine Strossen at the recent NYLS gala.

William Pennell, 2004, is a Partner at SPE Partners, LLC, a New York City-based entertainment developer, which created and is producing National Geographic Encounter.

Sarah Kroll Rosenbaum, 2005, was elected to partner at the firm Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete, LLP in Los Angeles.

Robert Zito, 1981, a former partner at the firm Carter Ledyard & Milburn, was appointed Assistant Professor of Business Law at Marist College School of Management.

Desireé Hernández, 2008, was featured by NBC for Hispanic Heritage month on a list of 20 Latinos making a difference.  She spoke about her role in the Safe Passage Project as Director of Legal Services.

Saliha Olgun, 2010, Assistant General Counsel at MSRB (Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board) in Washington, D.C., was named a “Rising Star” of 2017 by ‘The Bond Buyer’.

Nicole Wolosoff, 2012 was promoted to President of Boston National Title’s New York office.

Danielle Tricolla, 2011, Associate at the Long Island law firm Forchelli, Curto, Deegan, Schwartz, Mineo & Terrana, LLP, has been selected by the Long Island Business News for the 30 under 30 Award Class of 2017. She was recognized for her contributions to the Long Island community through public service and her business accomplishments.

Two alumni were named partners at ‘American Law 100’ firms: Alice Youngbar, 2002 was named Partner at McGuireWoods and Christopher DeCresce, 2001, was named Partner at Covington & Burling.

Nine alumni were members of a group of new assistant District Attorneys named by the Bronx DA:

Stephanie N. Baehr, 2017

Amanda Cicero, 2017

Elizabeth K. Friedrich, 2016

Kimberly Gay, 2017

Nicole R. Juliano, 2017

Sarah Schmidt, 2016

Adam Thomas, 2017

Jennifer Morton, 2017

Jonathan Sizemore, 2016

On October 11, 2017, Robert Mulvey, 1980, Associate Justice, NYS Supreme Court,  Appellate Division, Third Department, sat as an Associate Judge of the NYS Court of Appeals by designation under Article 6, Section 2 of the NYS Constitution.

Maria Marchiano, 1992, was promoted to Deputy Commissioner, and the first Chief Clerk, with the New York City Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings.

David R. Williams, 2002, has left the corporate world to join the music law faculty of the Crane Institute for Music Business at the Crane School of Music, SUNY Potsdam.

Charles Phillips, 1993, CEO of Infor, Inc. is a member of a group of corporate America’s most powerful black executives that are taking steps to form a political action committee that will focus on issues of employment, education and voting rights. Also, in November 2017, Phillips was elected to serve as a Class B director of The Federal Reserve Bank of New York.

Six alumni from the Class of ‘17 were among a group of 53 recent law school graduates hired by the New York City Law Department:

Hailey Barthel, Special Federal Litigation

Ariana Dindiyal, Commercial and Real Estate Litigation

Allyson Guidera, Family Court

Justin Meeks, Family Court

Joshua Mitts, Tort

Marissa Padovano, Family Court

Lisa J. Black, 1998, has launched Black Marjieh Leff & Sanford LLP (BMLS), a full-service law firm, along with founding partners Robert M. Leff, Sheryl A. Sanford and Dana Khalife-Marjieh. BMLS is a metro New York-based law firm focused on insurance defense and coverage, construction law, real estate, commercial litigation, immigration law and related practice areas. Also, Black is now a certified mediator. She will add alternative dispute resolution to the comprehensive legal services provided for the firm’s clients.