Gala 2017

Celebrating Groundbreaking Women in the Law

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Tribeca Rooftop
2 Desbrosses St., New York City

Cocktails:  6:00 p.m.
Dinner:      7:00 p.m.

To view our photo gallery for the 2016 Gala, please click here.

Meet Our Gala Honorees

Susan Hinkson ’98, LL.M. ’12 is an accomplished leader with expertise in both architecture and the law. She recently joined Capalino+Company as Executive Vice President of the Land Use, Housing, and Real Estate Practice Group. Ms. Hinkson previously served as Vice Chair and Commissioner of the New York City Board of Standards and Appeals and Brooklyn Borough Commissioner of the New York City Department of Buildings, in addition to other influential private- and public-sector roles.

Sybil Shainwald ’76 has advanced a deep commitment to social justice and women’s rights through her groundbreaking advocacy. She was instrumental in expanding the statute of limitations for latent injuries in New York, and she filed the first case under the Revival and Discovery Statute, thus making compensation possible for thousands of women and their children whose injuries had been marginalized or dismissed. She endowed New York Law School’s Sidney Shainwald Public Interest Lecture Series, a tribute to her late husband. This February, the 10th Annual Shainwald Lecture will feature U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

Hon. Judith Sheindlin ’65 is a distinguished jurist, a Supervising Judge of the Family Court in Manhattan and the star of JUDGE JUDY, the No.1 program in syndication for the last eight years. In 2006, she and her daughter Nicole Sheindlin ’93 co-founded “Her Honor Mentoring.” The program pairs high school seniors with mentors from all disciplines and has thus far graduated 375 women. “The Sheindlin Forum” at USC Annenberg was dedicated on September 12, 2017. Its goal is to create a space for public debate and advancing intellectually rigorous, civil, and healthy discourse.

Nadine Strossen is the John Marshall Harlan II Professor of Law at New York Law School. She is an international expert in constitutional law, civil liberties, and human rights who has taught at the School for nearly 30 years. Professor Strossen was President of the American Civil Liberties Union from 1991 to 2008 and the first woman to hold that post. A leading voice in today’s critical discussions about the First Amendment, she is writing HATE: Why We Should Resist It With Free Speech, Not Censorship, which will be published by Oxford University Press in 2018.

General Electric (GE) to be honored with the Diversity Champion Award for advancing women in science, technology, and law.

Meet Our Gala Leadership


Dr. Vincent A. Carbonell ’00
United Reprographic Services, Inc.

Mary G. Herms ’12
Managing Director
280 CapMarkets

Holly R. Lake ’99
Miller Law Group

Meryl R. Lieberman ’81
Traub Lieberman Straus & Shrewsberry LLP

Susan Mendik
Bernard H. Mendik Company LLC

Joe Plumeri ’15 (Hon.)
Joe Plumeri Foundation

Cynthia G. Senko Rosicki ’86
Rosicki, Rosicki & Associates, P.C.

Nicole Sheindlin ’93
Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Her Honor Mentoring


Areal R. Allen-Stewart ’14
Vice President, Independent Compliance Risk Management–Global Cards

Luise A. Barrack ’80
Managing Member
Rosenberg & Estis, P.C.

Jill B. Bienstock ’08
Cole Schotz P.C.

Pamela O. Foster ’00
Managing Director and Associate General Counsel
The Rockefeller Foundation

Stacie A. Michaels ’05
Senior Vice President and General Counsel
Wynn Las Vegas LLC

Julie Muniz ’97
Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP

Jaimee L. Nardiello ’03
Zetlin & De Chiara LLP

Joan V. O’Hara ’11

Tishya M. Signorelli ’00, LL.M ’11
Cole Schotz P.C.

*As of 8/21/2017

Your participation in the Gala will support student scholarships, faculty development and research, and innovative academic centers and programs. Those who donate $5,000 and above are eligible to be recognized with a named scholarship awarded in 2018.

Tables and Tickets

If you would like to purchase a table and/or ticket(s) to the Gala, please click here.

For more information about the benefits of various ticket and table levels, please call Anna T. Ferber at 212.431.2800 or email

Digital Advertisements

If you would like to purchase a digital advertisement to be displayed at the Gala, please click here.

Your donation to the Gala will support student scholarships, faculty development and research, and innovative academic centers and programs. Those who donate $5,000 and above are eligible to be recognized with a named scholarship awarded in 2018.


If you are unable to attend the Gala and would still like to donate, please click here.

The Gala festivities will include a silent auction to raise additional funds for New York Law School’s programming. Please consider donating an auction item, gift certificate, or gift basket to the silent auction. As an auction donor, you will be recognized at the event and in Gala materials.

If interested, please submit a completed form here. You may send your item to New York Law School Attn: Institutional Advancement, 185 West Broadway, New York, NY 10013. Please submit your donation no later than October 20 to ensure proper recognition at the auction and in our Gala program booklet.

If you have any questions, please contact Chanel Heckstall at 212.431.2152 or