Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot

Each year, Pace Law School – in conjunction with the University of Vienna – hosts the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in which students address a hypothetical business transaction which had gone wrong, and which parties to the dispute are trying to resolve through arbitration. Over 250 law schools from around the world participate in this competition.

For the team from New York Law School, the Vis competition is a year-long project-based learning course (two credits per semester) taught and coached by Prof. Lloyd Bonfield (who is Director of the Center for International Law), and which is graded on a pass/fail basis. (There is a possibility to receive a “Pass with Distinction.”) For general information on project-based learning courses, click here.

The Vis team members for 2016-17 are:

  • Meggin Bednarczyk 3L
  • Richard Charlat 3L
  • Tarrian Ellis 2L
  • Lance Fokine 3L
  • Gloria Lam 2L
  • Noah Meyer 3L
  • John Naphor 2L
  • Trevor Taylor 3L

To participate in the Vis competition, a student must enroll through the Registrar’s office during the spring semester in the months preceding the start of the coming fall semester. For example, a student who wants to join the Vis team starting in August 2016 must register for the Vis course during the course registration period in Spring 2016.

The course prepares the team for the Vis competition. Below are important dates:

  • October 2016: The hypothetical problem for the 2016-17 competition will be available.
  • December 2016: Students must submit a memorandum supporting the position of the claimant.
  • January/February 2017: A reply brief is due.
  • March or April 2017: The oral competition takes place in Vienna. Not all students will attend the moot in Vienna.

Students are assigned issues that emerge from the problem. Although each student is responsible for producing a part of the brief, research is collaborative. Each student critiques the sections produced by other team members. Likewise, students will also critique each other’s oral presentation before the actual competition.

The Vis team members for 2015-16 were:

  • Cristina Carreno 3L
  • Isioma Chukwuani 3L
  • Anne Easton 3L
  • Togtokhbayar Ganzorig 3L
  • Marbel Munoz 3L
  • Dorichel Rodriguez 2L
  • Niyati Sangani 2L
  • Alina Slabodkina 3L

The 2015-16 Vis team representing New York Law School. Back row (from left to right): Professor Lloyd Bonfield, Isioma Chukwuani, Cristina Carreno, Alina Slabodkina, Dorichel Rodriguez, Togtokhbayar Ganzorig, Aurelie Bertoldo (coach), and Anne Easton. Seated (from left to right): Marbel Muzoz and Niyati Sangani.