Professorships and Lectureships

John Marshall Harlan II Professorship

Established to honor the memory of John Marshall Harlan II (Class of 1925), who served as an Associate Justice on the U.S. Supreme Court from 1955 to 1971.

Incumbent: Nadine Strossen, since 2014.

In the past, this professorship was held by the following distinguished visiting scholars:

John Hart Ely, Stanford Law School
Jeffrey O’Connell, University of Virginia School of Law
Michael Perry, Northwestern University School of Law
Harry H. Wellington, Yale Law School
G. Edward White, University of Virginia Law School
Peter H. Schuck, Yale Law School

Martin Professorship

Established with the support of the Martin Foundation Inc., in memory of Lester Martin, an industrialist, financier, and noted philanthropist.

Incumbent: Jethro K. Lieberman, since 2013.

Martin Professor Emeritus (1993 – 2013): Professor James F. Simon, Dean Emeritus of the Law School.

The professorship has previously been held on a visiting basis by:

Charles Morgan, American Civil Liberties Union 
Robert Foster, Dean, University of South Carolina School of Law
Hon. Edward D. Re, Chief Judge, U.S. Court of International Trade
Norman Dorsen, New York University School of Law
Arthur Kinoy, Rutgers University School of Law
William Kunstler, Center for Constitutional Rights

The Sidney Shainwald Public Interest Lecture Series

The Sidney Shainwald Public Interest Lecture Series, established in 2004, is a tribute to Sidney Shainwald, an impassioned advocate for social justice who worked for Consumers Union from 1937 to 1982. The series honors Mr. Shainwald’s life and work by bringing public interest and consumer advocates together, and is also intended to encourage students to consider public interest work as a viable and exciting career choice.

Joseph Solomon Professorships

Two chairs were established through the generosity of the late Dr. Solomon ’27, who was a leading practitioner in the field of wills, trusts, and estates:

Joseph Solomon Distinguished Professorship of Law
Incumbent: Edward A. Purcell Jr., since 2000.

Rita and Joseph Solomon Professorship of Wills, Trusts, and Estates
Incumbent: William P. LaPiana, since 1993.

C.V. Starr Professorship of the Law of International Trade and Finance

Established by the Starr Foundation in memory of its founder, the late C.V. Starr. This professorship is currently vacant and was most recently held by Sydney M. Cone III, Emeritus Director of the Center for International Law.

Wallace Stevens Professor of Law

The professorship honors the memory of a great American poet and 1903 New York Law School graduate, and acknowledges the arts and humanities as a force in the lives of so many New York Law School lawyers and the greater New York legal community.

Incumbent: Richard K. Sherwin, since 2014.

Ernst C. Stiefel Comparative and International Law Program

Established by Ernst Stiefel to support new projects and initiatives in the areas of comparative and international law, this program supports symposia, visiting lectureships, scholarships, and faculty research activities.

Ernst C. Stiefel Professorship in Comparative Law
Established in 1996 by Ernst C. Stiefel, a leading practitioner of international and comparative law who was counsel to Coudert Brothers.

Incumbent: Professor Ruti Teitel, since 1999.

Trustee Professorship

Incumbent: David S. Schoenbrod, since 2006.

Otto L. Walter Distinguished Chair in Tax Law

This professorship was established by the Otto and Fran Walter Foundation to honor distinguished alumnus and benefactor, the late Otto Walter ’54, who founded Walter, Conston, Alexander & Green P.C., a firm that became well-known for its specialized practice in transnational law and would later merge with Alston & Bird LLP. At the time of his death in 2003, Dr. Walter was senior counsel at the firm.

Incumbent: Ann F. Thomas, since 2013.

Otto L. Walter Lecture in International Law

This lecture series was established by New York Law School to honor its distinguished alumnus and benefactor, the late Otto Walter ’54.