Writing Awards and Prizes

This list is provided as a service to faculty who wish to submit their written works for consideration for various prizes and awards. Click on the links for details about specific awards, and submission information, as well as a description of the award granting institution. The links are not limited to awards for books, but also articles, reviews, and much more.


Warren E. Burger Prize The Warren E. Burger Writing Competition is designed to encourage outstanding scholarship that promotes the ideals of excellence, civility, ethics and professionalism within the legal profession.

Law and Society Association Prize The Law and Society Association offers a number of prizes and awards for scholarship in the field of law and society. They include the Harry J. Kalven, Jr. Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Law and Society: the J. Willard Hurst Award for the Best Work in American Legal History; the Herbert Jacob Book Award; the Law and Society Association Article Award; the Law and Society Association International Award.

Thomas F. Blackwell Memorial Award The Legal Writing Institute and the Association of Legal Writing Directors give this award to recognize a person who has made an outstanding contribution to improve the field of Legal Writing.

National Book Critics Circle Awards
Each year the National Book Critics Circle selects awards in six categories: Fiction, General Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism. Members of the Board of Directors nominate books. Each book that is championed by a board member is placed on a master list, from which the finalists (and ultimately the winners) are selected.

The Lannan Foundation Awards
The Lannan Literary Awards and Fellowships were established in 1989 to honor both established and emerging writers whose work is of exceptional quality. Over the last 18 years, through its Awards and Fellowships program, the Foundation has awarded 161 writers and poets over $11 million. The awards recognize writers who have made significant contributions to English-language literature. The fellowships recognize writers of distinctive literary merit who demonstrate potential for continued outstanding work.

Scribes-The American Society of Legal Writers Award
Since 1961, Scribes has presented an annual award for the best work of legal scholarship published during the previous year. The Scribes Book-Award Committee receives between 30 and 40 nominees each year. The Scribes Book Award is presented at the Scribes luncheon, during the ABA annual meeting.

The American Political Science Association Awards
Book Awards– http://www.apsanet.org/section_261.cfm
Paper and Article Awards– http://www.apsanet.org/section_310.cfm
In an effort to bring attention to exceptional scholarship, the Association has established a number of awards covering, among others, papers, articles, and books.

The Silver Gavel Awards for Media and the Arts
The Silver Gavel Awards seek to recognize entries reaching the public across a wide range of communities and audiences. The “public” includes, but is not limited to, people in their various roles as consumers, as students of all ages (including young people and adults), and as citizens of a law-based democratic society.

The American Society for Legal History Awards
The Society offers a wide range of awards, prizes and fellowships.

The Golden Pen Award
The Legal Writing Institute has created an Outreach Committee to raise the Institute’s profile and to improve the quality of legal writing throughout the legal profession. As part of that effort, the Committee has created a Golden Pen Award to recognize persons who have significantly advanced the cause of better legal writing.

The Berger Memorial Prize in the Philosophy of Law
The prize is awarded to an outstanding published article in philosophy of law by a member of the Association. The Berger Memorial Prize in the Philosophy of Law is a prize established by the APA in memory of Professor Fred Berger of the University of California at Davis.

Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Award
Each year the Robert F. Kennedy Memorial celebrates the book which most faithfully and forcefully reflects Robert Kennedy’s purposes, his concern for the poor and the powerless, his struggle for honest and even-handed justice, his conviction that a decent society must assure all young people a fair chance, and his faith that a free democracy can act to remedy disparities of power and opportunity.

The Black Caucus of the American Library Association Award
The awards recognize excellence in adult fiction and nonfiction by African American authors.

The Kiriyama Prize
The Kiriyama Prize was established in 1996 to recognize outstanding books about the Pacific Rim and South Asia that encourage greater mutual understanding of and among the peoples and nations of this vast and culturally diverse region.

The American Society of International Law Awards
ASIL provides a variety of awards that recognize excellence in the field of international law. The Society bestows book awards known as ASIL Certificates of Merit, given for preeminent contribution to creative scholarship and/or high technical craftsmanship.

The Lionel Gelber Prize
The Lionel Gelber Prize was founded in 1989 by Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. The Gelber Prize honours the excellence of those who think and write about the local and global forces of change in international relations.

Arthur Ross Book Award
The annual Arthur Ross Book Award recognizes books that make an outstanding contribution to the understanding of foreign policy or international relations

International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution Awards
The International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution offers a variety of different prizes for legal writing focusing on different aspects of conflict prevention and resolution.

CHOICE: List of Outstanding Academic Titles
Choice publishes a list of Outstanding Academic Titles that were reviewed during the previous calendar year. This prestigious list reflects the best in scholarly titles reviewed by Choice and brings with it the extraordinary recognition of the academic library community. Choice editors base their selections on the reviewer’s evaluation of the work, the editor’s knowledge of the field, and the reviewer’s record.

Furniss Book Award
Each year, the Mershon Center for International Security Studies gives the Edgar S. Furniss Book Award to an author whose first book makes an exceptional contribution to the study of national and international security. The award commemorates the founding director of the Mershon Center, Edgar S. Furniss.

The following web sites offer additional general information about literary awards as well as compilations of available awards.