Library Research Classes

Each semester, we offer a variety of research classes that focus on the practical skills you’ll need to do research for class or in practice.  All of these sessions satisfy part of the Legal Practice Program’s Research Skills Workshop requirement (see the LP RSW instruction sheet for details).

Advance Registration is required. If you register for a session and cannot attend, please remember to cancel your reservation. If no one registers for a class by the date on which it is scheduled to be taught, that class will be canceled. 

To register, please click on the date and the time of the session you wish to attend.

The Bluebook in Legal Practice
Uncomfortable with the Bluebook and faced with writing a legal memoranda or other practice-related document? Come to one of these sessions focusing on using this vital legal practice tool. (50 minutes)

Tuesday, October 13, 2015, 7:50pm – 8:40pm, L203

Sunday, October 18, 2015, 2:15pm – 3:05pm, L203

Wednesday, October 21, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

 

I Found a Statute, Now What?
Finding a relevant statutory section is like finding the combination to a vault.  This class will show you how to unlock the vault in order to find all of the other sources you will need — cases, regulations, secondary materials — to complete your research project.(50 minutes)

Wednesday, September 30, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Monday, October 12, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Tuesday, October 27, 2015, 7:50pm – 8:40pm, L203

Sunday, November 1, 2015, 2:15pm – 3:05pm, L203

Thursday, November 5, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:50pm, L203

 

Introduction to Federal Legal Research
What are Jurisdiction and Authority and why are they vitally important?  How is the federal court system structured? How do the FR and CFR interact? Know the differences between the USC, the USCA and the USCS? Learn about the major sources used in Federal legal research. (50 min)

Tuesday, September 29, 2015, 7:50 pm – 8:40 pm, L203

Thursday, October 22, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:50pm, L203

 Monday, October 26, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Wednesday, October 28, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Saturday, November 7, 2015, 2:15pm – 3:05pm, L203

 

Introduction to NY Legal Research
What is the NYCRR? What’s the difference between McKinney’s and the CLS?  What are Jurisdiction and Authority and why are they vitally important?  Get a quick overview of the major sources used in researching New York legal questions. (50 minutes)

Thursday, October 1, 2015, 6:00 pm – 6:50 pm,L203

Wednesday, October 14, 2015, 5:00 pm – 5:50 pm, L203

Tuesday, October 20, 2015, 7:50pm – 8:40pm, L203

Monday, November 2, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Sunday, November 8, 2015, 2:15pm – 3:05pm, L203

 

Is All Your Research Up to Date?
You have found the perfect case – how do you know it is still good law? What else can a citator do for you? Come to this class and find out. (50 minutes)

Monday, October 19, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Wednesday, November 4, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

 

The Legal Researcher’s Secret Weapon: Secondary Sources
Often the quickest and easiest way to find the law – cases, statutes and regulations – is by using a secondary source such as a legal encyclopedia, treatise, monograph, law review article or legal newspaper.  Come to this class to learn about these and other resources designed to make your legal researching life easier. (50 minutes.)

 Monday, September 28, 2015, 5:00 pm – 5:50 pm, L203

Thursday, October 15, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:50pm, L203

Sunday, October 25, 2015, 2:15pm – 3:05pm, L203

Thursday, October 29, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:50pm, L203

Tuesday, November 3, 2015, 7:50pm – 8:40pm, L203

 

 

 

 

One on One Research Appointments can be scheduled at any time of the year.

If you have a specific research question or problem that can’t be dealt with adequately within the framework of a scheduled class, or, if you would like to spend some time (10 or 15 minutes) talking with a Reference Librarian about any aspect of Legal Research, contact

Michael McCarthy
Head of Reference Services & Professor of Legal Research
Mendik Library, L202.1
212.431.2384