Library Research Classes

We offer a variety of research classes that focus on the practical skills you’ll need to do research for class or in practice. All of these sessions satisfy part of the Legal Practice Program’s Research Skills Workshop requirement (see the LP RSW instruction sheet for details).

Registration is required.  To register, click on the date and time of the session you want to attend.

* If you register for a session and cannot attend, please remember to cancel your reservation. If no one registers for a class, it will be canceled 24 hours prior to the scheduled start time.

Agency Law: Rules, Regulations & More

Not all law is made in Congress. Focusing on the C.F.R. and the Federal Register, learn the basics of researching Federal Agency rules and regulations. (50 minutes)

Wednesday, February 18, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:50pm, L203

Friday, March 27, 2015, 1:00pm – 1:50pm, L203

Anatomy of a Lawsuit: What Happens Next?

Your client has a problem and friendly negotiation has failed. You need to be able to explain the various legal proceedings and steps involved in filing suit and taking it through trial and appeal. Can you? (50 minutes)

Wednesday, January 21, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Thursday, January 29, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Tuesday, March 17, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:50pm, L203

Sunday, March 29, 2015, 2:15pm – 3:05pm, L203

The Bluebook in Legal Practice

Uncomfortable with the Bluebook? Faced with writing a legal memorandum or other practice-related document? Come to one of these sessions focusing on this vital practice tool. (40 minutes)

Friday, January 30, 2015, 1:00pm – 1:40pm, L203

Sunday, February 22, 2015, 2:15pm – 2:55pm, L203

Wednesday, February 25, 2015, 5:10pm – 5:50pm, L203

Jurisdiction & Authority

In your memo to the court you tell the judge she is required to follow the holding in a particular case and are feeling pretty confident until the partner reviewing your work says “since when is a New Jersey trial court decision mandatory authority in New York?”

If you don’t know how to determine if a case is mandatory or merely persuasive authority in any given jurisdiction, you might want to sign up for this class. (50 minutes)

Monday, January 26, 2015,  5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Friday, February 27, 2015, 1:00 pm – 1:50 pm, L203

Saturday, March 28, 2015, 2:15pm – 3:05pm, L203

Tuesday, March 31, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:50pm,  L203

Thursday, April 9, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Note Taking for Legal Research

Addressing the importance of note-taking from the moment of receiving a research assignment through reporting back the findings, this workshop is full of valuable tips and techniques. (40 minutes)

Friday, February 20, 2015, 1:00pm – 1:40pm, L203

Monday, March 16, 2015, 5:10pm – 5:50pm, L203

Tuesday, March 24, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:40pm, L203

Wednesday, April 8, 2015, 5:10pm – 5:50pm, L203

Power Googling

Don’t just use the tip of the Google iceberg! Learn wild cards, phrases and connectors. Set up automatic Alerts. Check out Google Scholar and Google Books. (40 minutes)

Thursday, January 22, 2015, 5:10pm – 5:50pm, L203

Wednesday, April 1, 2015, 5:10pm – 5:50pm, L203

Tuesday, April 7, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:40pm, L203

Premium Legal Research Sources beyond Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance & Westlaw Next     

Learn about Hein Online, Fastcase, Smart Litigator and the other subscription databases that can help you now and, after you graduate, will still be available to you in the Mendik Library.

February 14, 2015, 2:15-3:05pm, Saturday (L203)

March 23, 2015, 5:00-5:50pm, Monday, L203

Reliable Free Online Sources of Legal Information 

Come to this session and learn about FDsys, Congress.gov and eight other authoritative, important sources of Federal legal information that will help you both at school and in practice. (50 minutes)

February 21, 2015, 2:15pm – 3:05pm, Saturday, L203

Monday, March 30, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Thursday, April 2, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Friday, April 10, 2015, 1:00pm – 1:50pm, L203

Review of the Legislative Process    

Focusing on the many steps needed to move a bill from concept to enactment, this class will explain why knowledge of this process is vital to anyone in law school or practice.

March 6, 2015, 1:00-1:50pm, Friday, L203

March 18, 2015, 5:00-5:50pm, Wednesday, L203

Secondary Sources  

Often the quickest and easiest way to find the law – cases, statutes and regulations – is by using a secondary source such as a legal encyclopedia, treatise, monograph, law review article or legal newspaper.  Come to this class to learn about these and other resources designed to make your legal researching life easier.

February 21, 2015, 2:30-3:20pm, Saturday (L205)

March 4, 2015, 5:00-5:50pm, Wednesday, L203

Starting a Federal Legal Research Project

How is the federal court system structured? How do the Federal Register and the C.F.R. interact? Know the differences between the U.S.C., the U.S.C.A. and the U.S.C.S.? Learn about the major sources used in Federal legal research. (50 minutes)

Wednesday, January 28, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Monday, March 2, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Thursday, March 19, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Starting a NY Legal Research Project

What is the NYCRR? Know the difference between McKinney’s and the C.L.S.? Get a quick overview of the major sources for researching New York legal questions. (50 minutes)

Friday, January 23, 2015, 1:00pm – 1:50pm, L203

Thursday, February 19, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Tuesday, February 24, 2015, 6:00 pm – 6:50 pm, L203

Wednesday, March 25, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Statutory Research

You are given an assignment and are told the answer is most likely to be found in Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Now what do you do? Go to this class! (50 minutes)

Thursday, February 26, 2015, 5:00 pm – 5:50 pm, L203

Friday, March 20, 2015, 1:00pm – 1:50pm, L203

Monday, April 6, 2015, 5:00pm – 5:50pm, L203

Using Citators To Make Sure Your Research Is Up To Date

You’ve found the perfect case – how do you know it’s still good law? What else can a citator do for you? Come to this class and find out. (40 minutes)

Tuesday, January 27, 2015, 6:00pm – 6:40pm, L203

Monday, February 23, 2015, 5:10 pm – 5:50 pm, L203

Sunday, March 22, 2015, 2:15pm – 2:55pm, L203

Thursday, March 26, 2015, 5:10pm – 5:50pm, L203

 

One on One Research Appointments can be scheduled at any time of the year.

If you have a specific research question or problem that can’t be dealt with adequately within the framework of a scheduled class, or, if you would like to spend some time (10 or 15 minutes) talking with a Reference Librarian about any aspect of Legal Research, contact

Michael McCarthy
Head of Reference Services & Professor of Legal Research
Mendik Library, L202.1
212.431.2384