Dean’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion

About the Dean’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion

The Dean’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion was established to serve as a source of ideas and innovative approaches for the Law School, and to offer advice, as the Law School implements the Institutional Diversity Plan. The Council consists of faculty, administration, students, alumni, and members of the legal community who are working together to identify barriers to inclusion within NYLS, the legal academy, and the profession.

Council Members


Anthony W. Crowell, Chair
Dean and President
Professor of Law

Jeff Becherer
Associate Dean for Admissions and Professional Development

Shani Darby
Associate Director of Student Life and Deputy Diversity Officer

Victoria Eastus
Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs

Ella Mae Estrada
Associate Dean of Enrollment Management, Financial Aid, and Diversity Initiatives

Oral Hope
Assistant Dean and Registrar

Jody Pariante
Assistant Vice President of Human Resources


Lenni B. Benson
Professor of Law
Director of the Safe Passage Project

Frank A. Bress
Professor of Law
Director of Clinical Programs

Kirk D. Burkhalter ’04
Professor of Law

David Chang
Professor of Law

Kris L. Franklin
Professor of Law
Co-Director of Institute for Excellence in Law Teaching

William P. LaPiana
Associate Dean
Rita and Joseph Solomon Professor of Wills, Trusts, and Estates
Director, Estate Planning, Graduate Tax Program

Richard D. Marsico
Professor of Law
Co-Director of the Impact Center for Public Interest Law

Carlin Meyer
Professor of Law Emerita

Ari Ezra Waldman
Associate Professor of Law
Director of the Innovation Center for Law and Technology

Daniel A. Warshawsky
Professor of Law

Alumni and Community Members

Fernando Bohorquez ’99
Partner, BakerHostetler

Maja Hazell
Director of Diversity and Inclusion, White and Case LLP

Emerson S. Moore II ’99
General Counsel, TMP Worldwide

Johnny T. Vasser, Jr. ’11
Assistant Counsel, NYC Department of Environmental Protection