Moot Court

The New York Law School Moot Court Association (MCA) is one of the largest and most successful student-run moot court organizations in the nation.

Through national competition and our own rigorous mentoring program, members develop well-honed appellate oral advocacy and brief-writing skills. Members compete in a variety of competitions, ranging topically from criminal procedure to tax, family law, constitutional law, and entertainment law. The Association has participated in competitions across the country, including Washington D.C., Buffalo, Chicago, Malibu, San Diego, and New York City. Since 1992, the Association has won over 80 first-place honors.

Moot Court Association Newsletter

Read the latest edition of The MCA Docket.

2018–19 Executive Board

Chair:  Lili Shainis

Vice-Chair:  Corinne Hilber

Executive Editor:  Ethan Binder

Executive Editor:  Monique Zabihzadeh

Associate Editor 1:  Erika Pedersen

Associate Editor 2:  Wesley Brandt

Froessel Chair:  William Gosling

Froessel Chair:  Martina Watson

Froessel Author:  Michael Kelley

Froessel Author:  Kayla Canasi

Wagner Chair:  Kelly Burke

Wagner Chair:  Marissa Monteiro

Wagner Author:  Jena Silverman

Wagner Author:  Danney Salvatierra

Training Coordinator:  Olivia Robertson

The Charles W. Froessel Intramural Moot Court Competition

Eligible students gain admission to the Association by competing in the Charles W. Froessel Intramural Moot Court Competition. The Froessel competition is one of the most demanding and rigorous intramural competitions. In the Froessel competition, students will compete against other New York Law School students. After registration, the competitors are given a fact pattern based on constitutional law, which contains citations to the leading cases on the issues presented. However, competitors are not limited to a closed universe and are both encouraged and expected to do additional research.

Each competitor is given approximately one month to research the issues and submit an appellate brief. Once briefs are filed, three preliminary rounds of oral arguments are scheduled. Students progress to advanced rounds based on a combination of their brief and oral scores. At the competition’s conclusion, awards are presented for the Best Preliminary Round Advocate, Best Petitioner Brief, and Best Respondent Brief. The two student advocates who advance to the Final Round will also receive an award for their outstanding achievement, while one advocate is selected as the Best Oralist.

The night before the Final Round, the Association’s Executive Board will invite qualifying Froessel competitors to become MCA candidates. In the fall, candidates for membership must complete a comprehensive written and oral advocacy skills training program to prepare them for the rigors of national competition. Upon completion of this program, candidates are granted full membership status and compete nationally in the spring.

The Annual Robert F. Wagner National Labor and Employment Moot Court Competition

In addition to the Froessel competition, every spring the Association hosts the Annual Robert F. Wagner National Labor & Employment Moot Court Competition. The Wagner Competition is one of the nation’s largest student-run moot court competitions and the only competition dedicated exclusively to labor and employment law. The Froessel and Wagner competitions attract attorneys from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania to act as judges. Past Final Round judges have included U.S. Supreme Court Justices Antonin Scalia and Clarence Thomas, former U.S. Solicitor General Kenneth W. Starr, and David Boies of Boies, Schiller & Flexner. Final Round judges from our own faculty have included former Dean Richard Matasar, Professor and former ACLU President Nadine Strossen, and the Honorable Gerald Lebovits.

The MCA receives enormous support from the New York Law School Faculty and Administration, including our faculty advisors Professor Susan Abraham, Professor Nadine Strossen, and Adjunct Professor Peggy Leibowitz. Without their help, and the help and support of the entire New York Law School community, our success would not be possible.  We honor the Association’s fine tradition of bringing national recognition to New York Law School.

Copyright Notice

All content on the Moot Court pages is copyrighted by the New York Law School Moot Court Association. Except as otherwise provided, reproductions of any information (including fact patterns) for any use may be made only with permission from the New York Law School Moot Court Association. Please contact the New York Law School Moot Court Association for more information: 212.431.2175.

If permission is granted, use will be permitted only on the condition that : (1) the author(s) and association are appropriately identified on each copy; and (2) proper notice of copyright is affixed to each copy.