Adjunct Faculty

Ann Schofield Baker

B.A., 1993, University of Toronto; J.D., 1997, New York Law School
Principal at McKool Smith specializing in national copyright and trademark litigation practice
Trial Advocacy, Mediation and Conflict Management
E: ann.baker@nyls.edu

Robert Baum

J.D., Syracuse University College of Law
Attorney, Federal Defenders of New York
Trial Advocacy
E: robert.baum@nyls.edu

Adele Bernhard

B.A., 1972 New York University College of Arts and Science; J.D., 1976, New York University School of Law

Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Law
T: 212-431-2813
O: E819, 185 West Broadway
Post-Conviction Innocence Clinic
E: adele.bernhard@nyls.edu

Raymond Castello

B.A., 1974, Dartmouth College; J.D., 1977, Yale Law School
Advocacy of Criminal Cases
E: raymond.castello@nyls.ed

The Honorable Margaret Clancy

B.A., 1977, Marymount Manhattan College; J.D., 1980, Cornell University
Court of Claims Judge, Acting Supreme Court Justice, NY State Supreme Court, Bronx County, Criminal Division
Trial Advocacy
E: margaret.clancy@nyls.edu

Anna Cominsky

B.A., 2002, Rutgers College; J.D., 2005, New York Law School
Supervising Attorney and Visiting Associate Professor of Law
Criminal Defense Clinic, Advocacy of Criminal Cases , Deposition Skills, Intensive Trial and Advocacy Skills
E: anna.cominsky@nyls.edu
Profile

The Honorable Paul E. Davison

A.B., 1980, Harvard College; J.D., 1985, New York University School of Law
US Magistrate Judge, U.S. Southern District, New York
Trial Advocacy
E: paul.davison@nyls.edu

Joanne Doroshow

B.A., 1976, University of Rochester; J.D., 1979, Temple University School of Law
Founder, President, and Executive Director, Center for Justice and Democracy, New York Law School
Civil Justice Through the Courts Clinic
E: joanne.doroshow@nyls.edu

Donna Dougherty

B.A., 1979, State University of New York at Oneonta; J.D., 1986, Union University
Director, Legal Services for the Elderly in Queens
Negotiating, Counseling, and Interviewing
E: donna.dougherty@nyls.edu

Lisa Del Pizzo

B.A., 1992, SUNY Binghampton; J.D., 1995, Boston College
NY County District Attorney’s Office, Deputy Bureau Chief, Trial Division
Trial Advocacy
E: lisa.delpizzo@nyls.edu

Genesis Fisher

B.A., 2000, Smith College; J.D., 2006, New York University School of Law
Staff Attorney, The Legal Aid Society: Criminal Defense Practice
Negotiating, Counseling, & Interviewing
E: genesis.fisher@nyls.edu

The Honorable Paul G. Gardephe

B.A., 1979, M.A., 1979, University of Pennsylvania; J.D., 1982, Columbia University
U.S. Courthouse, Southern District
Trial Advocacy
E: paul.gardephe@nyls.edu

Barbara Graves-Poller

B.A., 1996, University of Pittsburgh; M.A., 2000, New York University; J.D., 2004, New York University
Negotiating, Counseling, and Interviewing
E: barbara.graves-poller@nyls.edu

Charles Guria

B.A., 1982, Dartmouth College; J.D., 1986, New York Law School
Chief of Civil Rights and Police Integrity, Rackets Division, Kings County District Attorney’s Office
Criminal Prosecution Clinic, Kings County
E: charles.guria@nyls.edu

Pete Kempner

B.A., 1996, State University of New York at Purchase; M.A., 1998, George Washington University; J.D., 2001, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law
Director Veterans Justice Project and Deputy Director Housing Unit, Legal Services NYC – Brooklyn Programs
Veterans Justice Clinic
E: peter.kemper@nyls.edu

Michael Marcin

B.S.E. (Electrical Engineering), University of Pennsylvania, 1989; J.D., 1997, Fordham University School of Law
Partner, Fay Kaplun & Marcin
Patent Trademark Office Clinic
E: michael.marcin@nyls.edu

Kimberly Maynard

B.A., 2002, Michigan State University, 2009; J.D., Duke University School of Law
PTO Trademark Clinic
E:Kimberly.Maynard@nyls.edu

John Meringolo

B.S., 1996; M.S., 1998, Long Island University; J.D., 1999, New York Law School
Proprietor, Meringolo & Associates, P.C.
Trial Advocacy
E: john.meringolo@nyls.edu

Johanna Miller

B.S., 2005, University of Florida; J.D., 2008, New York Law School
Advocacy Director, New York Civil Liberties Union
Legislative Advocacy Clinic
E: johanna.miller@nyls.edu

The Honorable William T. Mogulescu

A.B., 1964, Clark University; LL.B., 1967, New York University
Acting Justice, New York State Supreme Court, Bronx County
Trial Advocacy
E: william.mogulescu@nyls.edu

Avraham C. Moskowitz

B.A., 1977, Yeshiva University; J.D., 1980, Columbia University
Partner, Moskowitz & Book, LLP.
Trial Advocacy
E: avraham.moskowitz@nyls.edu

F. Peter Phillips

Director, Alternative Dispute Resolution Skills Program
T: 212.431.2100 ext. 4422
O: C326, 185 West Broadway
Negotiation: Theory and Practice; Alternative Dispute Resolution
E: f.peter.phillips@nyls.edu
Profile

Samantha Pownall

B.A. 2004, Oberlin College; J.D. 2011, New York Law School
Education Law Clinic
E: Samantha.Pownall@nyls.edu

Andrew Santa Ana

B.A., 2001, State University of New York at Binghamton.,2007 J.D., City University of New York School of Law
Cyberharassment Clinic
E: Andrew.Sta.Ana@nyls.edu

Andrew Scherer

Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Law
Policy Direc­tor of the Impact Center for Public Interest Law
T:(212) 431-2144
E: andrew.scherer@nyls.edu
O: E407, 185 West Broadway
Civil Rights Clinic
Profile

Danielle Shalov

B.A., 1999, Kenyon College; J.D. 2002, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law;                                Mediator, DS Mediation Partners
Course: Mediation Clinic
E: danielle.shalov@nyls.edu

Sonja Shield

B.A., 1997, Swarthmore College; M.S.W., 2004, New York University Ehrenkranz School of Social Work; J.D., 2005, New York University School of Law
Union President, Legal Services Staff Association, NOLSW/UAW 2320
Negotiating, Counseling, and Interviewing
E: sonja.shield@nyls.edu

Lawton Squires

B.A., 1980, State University of New York at Oneonta; J.D., 1983, New York Law School
Herzfeld & Rubin, P.C.
Course: Trial Advocacy
E: lawton.squires@nyls.edu

Peter Strauss

Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Law
Of Counsel, Drinker Biddle & Reath, LLC
Elder Law and Aging in America
Elder Law Clinic
T:212.431.2196
E: Peter.Strauss@nyls.edu
Profile

Claire Thomas

B.A., 2004, University of Chicago; M.S., 2008, New York University; J.D., 2011,New York Law School
Director of Training, Safe Passage Project, New York Law School
Course: Asylum Clinic 
E: claire.thomas@nyls.edu

Alan Vinegrad

B.S., 1980, University of Pennsylvania; J.D., 1984, New York University
Partner, Covington & Burling LLP
Trial Advocacy
E: alan.vinegrad@nyls.edu

Amy Wallace

B.A., 1997, University of Toronto; J.D., 2000, Georgetown University Law Center; M.A., 2005, Lehman College (New York City Teaching Fellows).
Street Law                                                                                                                                                      E: amy.wallace@nyls.edu

Susan Walsh

B.A., 1990, Tufts University; J.D., 1996, George Washington University
Partner, Vladeck, Raskin & Clark, P.C.
Advocacy of Criminal Cases
E: susan.walsh@nyls.edu

The Honorable Patricia A. Williams

B.A., 1965, Cornell University; M.A., 1967 Columbia University; J.D., 1972, Yale University
Former Acting Justice, NY State Supreme Court, Bronx  County
Trial Advocacy
E: patricia.williams@nyls.edu