New York Law School Policies

Non-Discrimination and Harassment Policy of New York Law School

New York Law School’s facilities and services are available only to employers who agree to comply with the following: Discrimination and harassment interfere with the educational purpose of New York Law School and negatively affect all members of the Law School community. Faculty, staff, and students have a right to be free from discrimination and harassment based on race, color, ethnicity, ancestry, citizenship, religion, sex, pregnancy, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, national origin, age, disability, HIV/AIDS, predisposing genetic characteristics, marital or parental status, military status, domestic violence victim status, or any other classification protected by local, state, or federal law (“Protected Classification”). Discrimination or harassment directed at any member of the Law School community within the context of the Law School or Law School-sponsored activities will not be permitted, and complaints will be investigated promptly and thoroughly. New York Law School is proud of its policy of maintaining a work, academic and residential environment that encourages tolerance and respect for the dignity of each individual.

Go to Policies to read New York Law School’s Non-Discrimination and Harassment Policy, the Addendum to the Non-Discrimination and Harassment Policy, and the Sexual Misconduct Policy in their entirety.

New York Law School Grading System

NYLS has a rigorous grading system that reflects the high academic standards we set for our students. We encourage employers to review the information below and reach out with any additional questions to

GPA and Class Standing

A student’s grade point average is calculated each semester by the Office of the Registrar and is included on the student’s transcript. Pursuant to Faculty Rules and the Student Handbook, grades are ranked as follows: “A+” (4.33), “A” (4.0), “A-” (3.67), “B+” (3.33), “B” (3.0), “B-” (2.67), “C+” (2.33), “C” (2.0), “C-” (1.67), “D+” (1.33), “D” (1.0), “D-” (0.67), and “F” (0.0). Typically, students in the top 25 percent of the class have a cumulative GPA of 3.33 (B+) or higher.

Class Rank

All students are ranked within their class at the end of each academic year. At the end of the spring semester of the third year for full-time day students and the fourth year for part-time evening students, students receive ranks in their division, as well as a combined class rank with all students, full-time and part-time, who will graduate that June. Class ranks are also indicated on the student’s transcript.

Dean’s List

NYLS recognizes student academic achievement at the end of each fall semester and at the end of each spring semester with two honors: the Dean’s List (requires a GPA of 3.4 or higher) and the Dean’s List–High Honors (requires a GPA of 3.7 or higher).

Graduation Honors

Academic honors of summa cum laude, magna cum laude, and cum laude are determined by the Academic Status Committee based upon final grade point averages and whatever other factors the Committee may deem appropriate. Typically, no more than 25 percent of the graduates will be awarded these academic honors. Typically, the honors will be apportioned as follows: no more than (a) 2 percent summa cum laude, (b) 7 percent magna cum laude, and (c) 16 percent cum laude.