New York Law School Names Hon. Marc J. Whiten ’84 Special Advisor to the Dean

New York, NY (November 13, 2018) – New York Law School (NYLS) announced that Hon. Marc J. Whiten ’84, a New York City Criminal Court Judge, has been named Special Advisor to the Dean. Judge Whiten’s new role begins this month, and his judicial appointment ends on December 31, 2018.

As Special Advisor, Judge Whiten will chair NYLS’s new Judicial Clerkship Committee and lead an expanded effort to connect NYLS students to positions in the judiciary. He will also seek judicial participation in the School’s professional development programs, serve as a mentor to students and recent graduates, and build new partnerships between the School and the New York City legal community, working closely with NYLS’s Office of Career Development.

“Judge Whiten brings specialized expertise that will further strengthen our professional development programs,” said NYLS Dean and President Anthony W. Crowell. “As we grow and refine our clerkship offerings, our students will benefit from his wealth of experience and his connections to the New York City legal community.”

“I am honored to join the NYLS team,” Judge Whiten said. “Our extraordinary students and graduates offer great value to the legal community. Working with them and spreading the news about them will be an exciting next phase in my professional life.”

Judge Whiten was appointed in 2007 by Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg. He has served as an Acting Supreme Court Justice and Deputy Supervising Justice of the New York City Criminal Court for Bronx County. Before his judicial career, he was an Assistant District Attorney and Supervisor of the Narcotics Bureau in the Bronx County District Attorney’s Office, an Associate at Bower & Gardner, and a partner at Armienti DeBellis & Whiten LLP. He earned his J.D. from New York Law School and his B.S. from Carroll College.

Judge Whiten has been a member of the NYLS Board of Trustees since 2015, and he was the President of NYLS’s Alumni Association from 2015 to 2018.