Law School Gears Up to Host 41st Annual Wagner National Labor and Employment Law Competition

This weekend, students from more than 30 law schools throughout the country—some as far as California, even Hawaii—will travel to New York Law School (NYLS) to test their oral and written advocacy skills.

For 40 years, NYLS has hosted the Robert F. Wagner National Labor and Employment Law Competition—the nation’s largest student-run moot court competition and the most high-profile national competition dedicated to labor and employment law. The competition honors the late U.S. Senator Robert F. Wagner, an alumnus of NYLS.

This year’s event begins on Friday, March 24, a day packed with 12 hours of competitive rounds, and runs through Sunday, March 26, concluding with a celebratory dinner for the two teams that advance to the final round.

The Moot Court Association’s 2016-17 Executive Board has overseen every phase of planning the event. Wagner Competition Co-Authors Alexandra Rockoff 3L and Venessa Marston 3L Evening wrote the 2017 fact pattern. It explores the effects of a public university professor’s denial of tenure solely due to speech made at a campus-sanctioned event on the faculty member’s First Amendment rights and whether the Board of Trustees can claim immunity for such a decision. Executive Editors Leah Henry 3L and Eric Benzenberg 3L edited the fact pattern. Wagner Competition Co-Chairs Lina Goto 3L and Ronald Cosme Jr. 3L planned the event, including recruiting alumni and others to judge each of the numerous competition rounds. Chair Alexis Granell 3L provided leadership throughout.

Professor Susan J. Abraham, Faculty Advisor to the Moot Court Association, and Professor Arthur Leonard, who teaches labor and employment law, guided the team.

The event’s intensely competitive final round will be judged by a highly distinguished bench: The Hon. Denny Chin of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, NYLS Dean Anthony W. Crowell, The Hon. Rosemary S. Pooler of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, and The Hon. Faviola Soto ’78 of the New York State Court of Claims.

More Information
Find more details on this year’s competition, including the fact pattern, here.